Alan Mathers Elected as Wakool Shire Councillor

The election was held on Saturday 9th April
The election was held on Saturday 9th April


Alan Mathers from Barham has been elected as Wakool Shire Councillor for C Ward following the ward’s by-election on Saturday.

Cr Mathers, a dairy farmer, will join fellow C Ward Councillor and Wakool Shire Mayor Neil Gorey.

Cr Mathers’ election follows that of B Ward Councillor David Landini, who was elected unopposed in early February.

Wakool Shire Council Mayor Neil Gorey congratulated Cr Mathers, adding that the Council could now represent the community to its fullest.

“Council’s decision to go ahead with the by-election for these wards was about ensuring communities across the Shire were represented by a council made up of all six elected representatives,” Cr Gorey said.

“Ensuring that this representation was in place was seen as critical by the Council, particularly as Council and the community await the Minster for Local Government’s response to Wakool Shire’s submission regarding the proposed merger with Murray Shire Council.

“I congratulate Cr Mathers on his election to Council and together with my fellow Councillors, look forward to working with him.”

Cr Mathers will attend his first Ordinary Council Meeting on Wednesday, 20 April.