Australia Day Awards


Council would like to congratulate the Wakool Shire Australia Day Award recipients:

Citizen of the Year - Mr Ian 'China' Gibson, Moulamein

Junior Citizen of the Year - Mr Jacob Taylor, Barham

Sportsperson of the Year - Mr Darcy Spinks, Tooleybuc

Sporting Achievement of the Year - Koondrook/Barham River Raiders Colts Grand Final Win

Community Event of the Year - Barham-Koondrook PA&H Show

Click on the download at the bottom the page to view some information about all our award winners!

Presentations will be made to all award recipients at Australia Day Breakfasts held across the Shire. 

Barham - Breakfast at Riverside Park starting at 7.00am followed by an address from Gannawarra Shire Ambassador Rachel Stanfield-Porter at 8.00am and the official presentation of the Junior Citizen, Community Event and Sporting Achievement Awards and the flag raising ceremony. $8 per person/children no cost.

Moulamein -Breakfast at the Triangle at 7.30am followed by an address from Wakool Shire Ambassador Mr Mark Tonelli and the official presentation of the Citizen of the Year Award and flag raising ceremony at 8.30am.  A donation would be appreciated.

Wakool - Breakfast at the Wakool Hall starting at 7.00am.  Please book through the Wakool Café 03) 5887 1217 for catering purposes.

Tooleybuc- Breakfast is from 7.30am at Mensforth Park followed by official presentations of Sportsperson of the Year Award and the flag raising ceremony.  The duck race will follow at the Murray River.  A donation would be appreciated.

Koraleigh - Breakfast is from 7.30am onwards at the fire brigade station followed by the raising of the flag ceremony at 8.30am.  $5 per person/ $10 per family.


The Wakool Shire Council Australia Day Ambassador for 2012 is Mr Mark Tonelli, Olympian Swimmer/Journalist/TV Presenter.


2012 award recipients (PDF - 103.62KB)