Australia Day Awards 2014

Recipients of Wakool Shire Council 2013 Citizenship Awards are:

Citizen of the Year – George Rathbone, Barham

Junior Citizen of the Year – Shanelle Faul, Barham

Sportsperson of the Year – Zac Hare, Barham

Sporting Achievement of the Year – Wakool Football Club Senior Premiership Win

Community Event of the Year – Tooleybuc Club Centenary Bowls Tournament for Armedeo Silverii

The Wakool Shire Council Australia Day Ambassador for 2014 is Viviene Kartsounis, Founder of Shoes for Planet Earth.  Presentations will be made to all award recipients at Australia Day Breakfasts held across the Shire:


Barham – Breakfast at Riverside Park starting at 7.00am finishing at 8.45am followed by the official presentations of Citizen of the Year, Junior Citizen of the Year and Sportsperson of the Year Awards and the flag raising ceremony.


Moulamein –Breakfast at the Triangle at 8.30am followed by the flag raising ceremony at 9.00am.  A gold coin donation would be appreciated.


Wakool – Breakfast at the Wakool Hall starting at 8.00am followed by the presentation of Sporting Achievement of the Year.  Please book through the Wakool Café 03) 5887 1217 for catering purposes.


Tooleybuc– Breakfast is from 7.30am at Mensforth Park followed by the official presentation of the Community Event of the Year and the flag raising ceremony.  The duck race will follow at the Murray River.  A donation would be appreciated.


Koraleigh – Breakfast is from 7.30am onwards at the Koraleigh Recreation Reserve followed by the raising of the flag ceremony at 8.30am.